Economic Development Committee

The Economic Development Committee (EDC) was established in 2013 by the Town Council (via Resolution 4023 and updated in 2015 with Resolution 4112). 

The Committee works with the Town’s business community to identify actions that can be taken to ensure that the business community is vibrant, successful and meets the needs of the Town residents.

The Committee ensures that the Town’s business community and residential community have a forum for giving the Town input on steps needed to attract and retain a range and variety of businesses. 

Goals and Objectives:
This is an active, working committee.
In accordance with the Town's General Plan, and bearing in mind the obligation to maintain the integrity and heritage of the Town, the Committee will develop and implement an Economic Development Action Plan consisting of agreed upon goals, objectives and action steps that will serve as the framework for the Committee's ongoing progress.  This plan will be reviewed, amended as needed and presented to the Town Council on an annual basis.

The Committee recently expanded to nine (9) members (up to 3 non-resident members) and one (1) alternate, representing the diversity of interests and points of view of our community (with a strong mix of business, marketing, technology, parking management, design, and/or finance expertise), and the local business community. 

The Committee will include at all times, one (1) representative from the San Anselmo Chamber of Commerce and three (3) representatives who have businesses in San Anselmo, including a retail business owner, restaurant/cafe owner, and property owner.

The Committee will also include up to two (2) Council member liaisons, and two (2) Town staff liaisons (Planning Director and Community Services Director with additional staff as needed). 

As with all Town Board, Committees and Commissions, the vacant EDC Committee seats will be advertised on the Town website and in the Town Manager's Newsletter, and candidates will be interviewed and appointed by the Town Council.

Terms of Service:
Members will serve three (3) year terms, provided that the first members appointed shall serve a differing number of term lengths to accomplish a staggering of the appointment schedule so that no more than one-half of the seats shall expire in anyone year. Committee members are limited to two terms.

Directional sign on Sir Francis Drake approaching hub

EDC Spotlight

Town Council adopts Ordinance No. 1179 on August 22, 2023, to allow Planning and Zoning Amendments to further Economic Development.  

In response to the San Anselmo EDC 2022 Action Plan Item No. 2, “Retain, Attract, and Enhance Local Businesses”, the Planning Department has worked closely with the EDC over the last year to identify strategies to “Achieve and maintain a balanced and complementary mix of businesses serving residents and visitors.”  The culmination of these efforts has resulted in the following changes to the Town's Planning and Zoning regulations:

1. New Title 10, Chapter 3, Article 3, Land Use Table 3A:

  • Reorganized and Updated Land Use Tables that follow the names and classifications associated with the Northern American Industry Classification System (NAICS).  The NAICS is a classification of business establishments by economic activity (process of production) and used as an industry standard in Canada, Mexica, and the United States of America.
  • Professional Offices will now require a Conditional Use Permit to locate on the ground floor with the downtown, C-2 Zoning District. Ground floor offices in the C-1 and C-3 Zoning District are permitted and do not require a Conditional Use Permit.
  • The Planning Director is authorized to take action on Temporary Events on private property in all commercial zoning districts. A Temporary Event may include “Pop-Ups”.

 2. Modifications to Title 10, Chapter 3, Article 4, Development Standards Table 4A:

  • Increased the residential densities in the C-3 and C-L Zoning District from 20 to 30 dwelling units to the acre.  
  • Increased the Floor Area Ratio in the C-1, C-3, and C-L Zoning District
  • Increased the height of buildings in the C-3 and C-L Zoning District from 30-feet to 35-feet in height.

3. Amendments to Title 10, Chapter 3, Article 5, Parking Standards Table 5A:

  • Removed additional parking requirements in the C-2 Zoning District when there is an intensified or expanded change in use.
  • Reduced Commercial and Residential parking requirements.
  • Joint Use Parking provision for Planning Commission consideration of granting approval of underutilized parking areas to be used for other uses when the uses do not have conflicting operating times. 

 4. Repealed and replaced Title 10, Chapter 3, Article 17, Definitions, of the San Anselmo Municipal Code to correspond to the new Land Use Table 3A.

  • Title 10, Chapter 3, Article 17, Definitions, has been replaced in its entirety. 

Ordinance No. 1179 goes into effect on September 21, 2023.

The Planning Department would like to extend a special “Thank You” to the EDC working group of former EDC Chair Jessica Rising, current Co-Chair Javier Fernandez, EDC Member Frank Gomez, and frequent community contributor to the EDC and economic expert, Richard Berkson, the EDC, the Planning Commission, and the Town Council for supporting these efforts.

Please contact Heidi Scoble, Planning Director at if you have any questions.


  • 8:45 -10:15 AM
  • 2nd Tuesday of the month, quarterly. See Town Calendar for dates.(note: the EDC began meeting quarterly starting June 2023)
  • Town Hall Council Chambers
    525 San Anselmo Ave
  • Hybrid - Council chambers and on Zoom for public - see agenda for link

*Brown Act: All meetings of the Committee shall be public and noticed on the public notice bulletin boards and on the Town website.

  1. Heidi Scoble

    Planning Director

  2. Kelley Warner

    Community Engagement Coordinator

Agendas and Minutes

Most Recent Agenda | View All

Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Minutes | View All

Meeting Documents

Archived meeting documents

Contact Us

Economic Development Committee Members

Member Name Term Expires
Javier Fernandez, Co-Chair
March 2024
Richard Burns, Co-chair
March 2024
Benedetto Cico March 2026
Rebecca Bugas March 2026
Frank Gomez March 2024
Ryan Olson
June 2026
Ginny Svigals
June 2026
Michael Fine
June 2026
Alternate vacancy
Brian Colbert, Council Liaison January 2024
Tarrell Kullaway, Council Liaison
January 2024